All things motherhood and more!

Suffering Seasonal Allergies

Do you enjoy walking around feeling like a may fly is buzzing around in your nose making you on the verge of sneezing every few seconds?  Is it fun to have one eye watering and shrinking up making your eye bright red and face look deformed?  I know I don’t!

I suffer from seasonal allergies which I guess Houston’s season is “all year-long”!  I certainly notice the allergies more whenever a weather front (cold or hot) comes blowing through.

I get a laugh too because my eyes will often start to water like the Hoover Dam flood gates have opened at the worst time possible.  Just get this visual of me sitting in a movie that isn’t sad and I look like a bawling baby!  The last time was watching the latest Twilight movie with my daughter right during the  notorious “love scene”.  Yeah, that just would not be something I would be crying at!  Thankfully it made the moment really funny and we both had a  good laugh missing most of that scene anyway!

My son also gets what are called “allergy shiners” where he has purple circles  under his eyes that only go away when he takes allergy medicine.  I had taken other allergy medications before but when my son’s doctor had recommended Zyrtec we both started taking it.  My sister also recommended Zyrtec-D which you have to get over the counter.  I try not to take the medication daily but I certainly run for it when I feel the attacks coming on.

What do you do for your allergies?

Comments on: "Suffering Seasonal Allergies" (7)

  1. Thanks for the tips; they’re very valuable when trying to deal with allergies. Without these important steps, I would be itching all day long 😦 Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. The best thing for my seasonal allergies that I too suffered when living in Houston was to MOVE!!! I know, that’s not fair to say, but as soon as I moved, NO MORE ALLERGIES!!! It’s fabulous! I know some great areas around here and you could come live by me! 🙂

  3. Since I’ve started using essential oils daily, I rarely have any allergies (thank goodness). If I happen to get them, I use 5 drops of each peppermint, lavender and lemon 🙂

    And excuse me, you cannot move unless it’s that cabin we were planning to buy together.

Leave a Reply

