All things motherhood and more!

Homemade Pretzel Bites

I was just telling some friends how busy my schedule has been lately. I am sad I haven’t been able to post much of the things on my mind but I have to stop and post about this.

While folding an endless pile of towels the other day I was also watching Undercover Boss which featured the Philly Pretzel Factory. Lets just say it was a mouth watering episode! So it got me thinking that although I am not the best cook and certainly not the best at making bread products they made it look very easy to make pretzels. I got online and found a recipe that looked simple enough for me to try making pretzel bites last night.

The dough was very easy to make using my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook. I let it rise like it suggested and then got my son involved (after much hand washing) with helping me roll out the dough into the long strips. After cutting them into small bite size pieces they simply are dunked into boiling water for about 30 seconds, placed on a greased cookie sheet, brushed with an egg wash mixture and heavy salt and then they are ready to bake. Of course it smelled amazing but I was pleasantly suprised at how they tasted! Mine didn’t come out looking as amazing as the photo but maybe with time I can master that too. The recipe also said you can do cinnamon and sugar instead of salt but I also think it is worth trying with butter and parmesean cheese!  The recipe also has suggestions for dipping sauces. I had honey mustard on hand but my husband made an olive oil and Italian herb sauce too.

Click here for the recipe:  http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/homemade-soft-pretzel-bites/

What other spices, variations or sauces would be good on these pretzel bites?

Comments on: "Homemade Pretzel Bites" (5)

  1. Soft, chewy pretzels are so wonderful! Yum!

  2. Delicious! What a lovely idea.

  3. What a great idea. I’ll put these in school lunches (if they make it…).

    • We did have about 1/4 of the batch left. My kids took them the next day to school and said they were great. Of course I prefer them hot and fresh from the oven, but the next day they were really good too!

  4. Fine way of telling, and pleasant paragraph to get
    information regarding my presentation subject matter, which i am going
    to deliver in college.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

